Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Anti pitch pole foils  Bottom

• How effective are the anti dive foils on a H16? Anyone made their own? Any hints on attachment? Sorry if this is over posted, my searching skills here are elementary.

--
    John

Nacra 5.0
    CT
    --
  • Back in the 80's I made some symmetrical 13" foils the cord was about 9" and mounted them on the bows. They were Hard wood. they were cut half way through the back side and mounted onto the lip at the front. they worked extremely well, I drove the bows onto them and they never let the bows go under. I would do it again if I had a 16.
    Banjo13. Allen.
  • It's been a while since I ran a 16, but I certainly remember the pitchpoles vividly. I've no experience with the anti dive foils, but with experience I learned to move crew weight way aft in risky conditions, substantially reducing the amount of time spent in the water. Not saying you don't need them, but you may outgrow them with time.

Dave
  • Those things are useless

--
    Kenneth Purdy
    Hobie 16
    Nacra 5.2 (2)
    Banshee
    First Coast, Florida
    --
  • Totally agree. Learn to sail the boat fast by staying back in heavy air, forward in light air (especially), and having main sheet cleat angle at correct angle for fast release as well as getting rid of half inch sheet for 3/8 or 7/16 . This is not a sailboat, but a catamaran. Pete
  • Good advice there, when you are tightened down all the way, you should be sitting on the very back corner of the trampoline. Crew should be as far back as possible.

--
    Kenneth Purdy
    Hobie 16
    Nacra 5.2 (2)
    Banshee
    First Coast, Florida
    --
  • just u-tube and you will see that even world class professional sailors get pitchpoled when out in xs wind.