Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Covering boat parts from Sun/weather....Sunbrella fabric?  Bottom

• I'm looking to make a few little covers to protect things on the boat from SUN and weather. I think sun is the killer here. My boat came with some sunbrealla rudder covers.

Is sunbrealla material good enough to protect from sun?

--
    1988 Nacra 5.2
    YouTube link to see boat in action:
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLddinE6IorSrPpZrlvcwAjRzSIQsKYPG1
    --
  • Sunbrella is awesome at holding up to the sun. It's not waterproof, but I think it's best to have things "breathe" anyway. There's a Sunbrella tramp cover still in use year round at our club that I bought USED in ~2000. The fabric will probably outlast the thread.

I have no direct experience with it, but I hear Dupont Tenara (Teflon) thread is the way to go. Unfortunately, I've only seen it sold in huge (very expensive) spools.

--
    Jerome Vaughan
    Hobie 16
    Clinton, Mississippi
    --
  • Sunbrella is great. Standard guarantee is 5 years, if you buy the marine grade it is 10 years from these people:
    www.sailrite.com
    They have everything to help you make your covers, including their own sewing machines.
    Tenara thread is worth the $$$ for constant exposure to the sun, and is available in somewhat smaller cones than elsewhere.
    I have made spare tire covers, rudder covers, a sail bag, curtains, and upholstered padded plywood for my truck bed.

--
    Sheet In!
    Bob
    _/)_____/)_/)____/)____/)_____/)/)__________/)__
    Prindle 18-2 #244 "Wakizashi"
    Prindle 16 #3690 "Pegasus" Sold (sigh)
    AZ Multihull Fleet 42 member
    (Way) Past Commodore of Prindle Fleet 14
    Arizona, USA
    --