Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Bottom Job questions  Bottom

• I've got an older P18 and it's time to do a bottom job. I've been reading here and on the web in general, and I've pretty well decided the right approach is to build up the keel with fiberglass and Polyester Resin, followed with Gel Coat. One hull is fine, but the other is worn down to the glass. I've got a few chips/chunks missing as well. no delamination and the hulls seem quite sound (no punched in spots).

I'm planning to use unwaxed resin and gelcoat, topping the gelcoat with PVA to give a curing seal.

I'm curious what people recommend for a patching resin for filling chipped gelcoat?
  • i am not an expert but ....

i would spend a little more $ and go with west system ...

order online and its about $60 (http://www.discountmarine…H2ndqV1MUCFdcZgQodaJgA7w) for the epox/starter and pumps - no measuring, totally predictable kick off times - forget the poly

i would plan on using some cloth as well - i would ALSO add filler (http://www.westsystem.com…product-selection-chart/) to add more strenght to the bottom - i personally use mill fiber - http://www.multitechprodu…ed-glass-fibers-1-8-mill when it's on a bottom or rudder (or board)

i also have gotten lazy and don't gel coat in non UV areas (bottoms)

YMMV
  • So, from what I've been reading, the west system is an epoxy, which has two issues: first, the original resin is polyester, and second, gelcoat doesn't bond well to epoxy. For an epoxy job, I think I'd do quick-and-dirty and use the marinetex stuff, just to shore up the bottom. Either way, I am planning to add glass fiber.

NB - I've posted an album with some shots.
  • +1 on everything MN3 posts. Get a roll of 2" fiberglas tape. This is a I hour job with 4 layers if you flip your hulls over. Gelcoat not necessary. Pete