Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Most fuel efficient auto for towing H18  Bottom

Go to page [-1] 1 - 2 - 3:

• cezo823How about a VW Dirty Diesel, nice low end torque, easy to upgrade the brakes if needed. Just a thought.

If I could get it past smog in CA.... this would be the way I would go...

--
    John Schwartz
    Ventura, CA
    --
  • QuoteI would not recommend adding a trans cooler to a Camry to tow a basic catamaran rig..... Because it already has one

Hi John, good info

I am no mechanic, and just regurgitating what I have found/seen online - which was eye opening

in almost every thread about towing with non-tow packages, the recommendation of a trans cooler came up
  • MN3
    QuoteI would not recommend adding a trans cooler to a Camry to tow a basic catamaran rig..... Because it already has one

Hi John, good info

I am no mechanic, and just regurgitating what I have found/seen online - which was eye opening

in almost every thread about towing with non-tow packages, the recommendation of a trans cooler came up

Sure.... they want to sell you something

Only time you should add one is when there isn't one... But most cars these days have them.... far cheaper than replacing the whole transmission unit under warrentee. We were having trouble with the VW Eurovans....blowing transmissions left and right @ 15K-20K miles... too many RPMs from the engine.... and pulling a lot of weight with the van curb weight itself.. VW came out with a cooling kit... bingo problem solved...

--
    John Schwartz
    Ventura, CA
    --
  • QuoteSure.... they want to sell you something

Only time you should add one is when there isn't one... But most cars these days have them

These are on auto related threads (not retail stores)

there isn't one on my brand new car (that i know of)