Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Need help choosing first cat.  Bottom

• A little background first. I've got a lot of dinghy sailing experience and two years of sailing a Hobie wave. I'm looking to move up to something a little faster. I like the look of the Hobie 16. But I'd like something a little more roomy. Most of the time it will just be my wife and I but occasionally we'll take some friends out. Mostly we just plan on exploring the spoil islands around the honeymoon Island area of Dunedin. I'm looking for some that's easy/fast to rig, and forgiving.

I'm looking for something that isn't super rare. Something that can be found on craigslist. I'm a pretty big guy. 6'1" 270lbs and my wife is 130. I'd say 90% of the time it will just be us. The other ten percent of the time I'd like to take two other people out with us. I'm not sure if I should be looking at something bigger than a 16 due to our weight.

I mentioned forgiving because i've taking a hobie 16 a few times in light winds, one time the winds piped up to about 15kts and I nearly soiled myself...it's just a bit sharper than the wave I'm used to!

Hopefully thats enough info to get some advice.
  • Check out his thread:
    http://www.thebeachcats.c…c/15480/start/0#pid54986

--
    Sheet In!
    Bob
    _/)_____/)_/)____/)____/)_____/)/)__________/)__
    Prindle 18-2 #244 "Wakizashi"
    Prindle 16 #3690 "Pegasus" Sold (sigh)
    AZ Multihull Fleet 42 member
    (Way) Past Commodore of Prindle Fleet 14
    Arizona, USA
    --
  • There's good info on the thread that Klozhald mentioned. It sounds like you're looking for more a pleasure boat than an actual racing boat. I don't know what your budget is, but a Hobie Getaway sounds like the ticket for you. It will carry weight, has a ton of room on the tramps, is fast enough to be fun, but is also very gentle and forgiving. Only drawback is that they're more $ than a lot of the other boats you can find.