Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Hobie 16 Hull Restoration  Bottom

• Hey guys, I brought my Hobie 16 home today and this is what I found; a couple of soft spots and one area I'm concerned with. I posted before and it was suggested that I buy a new (used) hull. I also had advice on picking up a new used Hobie 16 since they are cheap with extra parts. I found a few of them for sale, but also found most have soft hulls - that's out for now. Below I attached some pictures of my Hobie 16 with the damage I found on the port side hidden under a sticker. Has anyone seen this type of repair before (this area is not soft)? I've marked the areas with a pencil showing the soft spots and dented area. The starboard side is fine. I'm kind of looking for someone to say...dude, just fix it it's not that bad, especially since I'm a rookie and definitely not on the ocean at 20+ mph and tend to play it safe in lakes and bays. Also there is a few pictures of cracks on the port side where the trampoline mounts that I have included. I'm thinking a little sanding and filling ought to do it?
    Any advise is greatly appreciated. Thank you, John.

Please see my photo album here: http://www.thebeachcats.com/pictures?g2_itemId=111684
  • Just did an entire bow on a P-18 this week. Drilled at least 200 holes, used about $30 epoxy, one $3 syringe, 1 plastic cup & $1 bondo for divits plus 2 sander discs. Took total 3 hours. Painted decks after $20 of Interlux Brightside and 40 minutes. Deck rock solid now. Pete
  • You can definitely fix that. At least good enough to get you through a few seasons while you search for a parts boat with solid hulls - they're out there, just a little tough to find. I've fixed many soft spots on many H16 hulls, they end up tough as nails but the downside is added weight, the boat gets slower. Sail the heck out of it once you get it solid.