Welcome anonymous guest

Please Support
TheBeachcats.com

Rivet Joint on 85 Hobie 18SX Mast  Bottom

• Hello all. I'm pretty new to Hobie sailing.
    I just picked up my 18sx a few weeks ago and have been picking away updating and repairing it.

One thing I noticed is the rivet joint on the mast seem to have some play in it. This is only noticeable when the boat is not rigged; however it makes me nervous sailing a boat with a mast that may not be so structurally sound.

Any tips on reinforcing the joint? Or will replacing the rivets do the trick.

Thanks....I'm sure this is the first of many questions...

Rob
  • Depends a bit on where and why there is a joint in the mast. Normally the mast is a single extrusion (maybe with a comp tip at the top). If the mast has been repaired after damage and that is why the joint is there you need to check to see how it was repaired.

The normal procedure to repair a damaged mast is cut, sleeve and rivet (or tig weld) . You cut the mast and remove the damaged area, then you take a 2' piece of the same mast section and cut off the sail track. You then compress the section so that it fits into the original mast section and slid it in 1 ft and rivet into place with a number of monel or stainless rivet (i think they usually use 3 columns of three or some such. You can then slide the other part of hte mast over the 1 ft of exposed 'sleeve' and do the same for the top portion. Seal and you are good to go until corrosion sets in because you just used stainless rivets in an aluminum mast (not usually a huge problem in fresh water). So if that is what you have, just replace the rivets and you should be good. If the rivet holes are a little oversize then use some aluminum rivet sleeves. Or ideally get someone to tig weld the joint (ugly but stronger).

If the joint is not sleeved correctly or is sleeved with another section that is too loose you may have to acquire a piece of mast to sleeve it yourself or give to a pro to do.